Stress/Tears:Pushing Through January Blues

20180104_173132

Something about January always brings me down.

Coming off of Christmas break is difficult, especially when going back to school. But it’s also the lack of sunlight, gloomy weather, and my emotions, that bring me down. This month of my Urban Ministry class, we have been studying mental health and intervention tactics. I would never self-diagnose myself with depression but I know I have run-ins with seasonal depression. Whatever the cause, I feel low in the month of January. This year, however, has been a lot more emotional; lots of stress and tears.

It has caused me to have some writer’s block, which sucks.

But here I am, trying to write and push through all the build-up that has been making it difficult.

Writing is my outlet, I do it to help process things and put feelings into words. As a visual learner/thinker, words help me visualize feelings because I can see them. Over the years I have learned to write better and more frequently because I love it. It has also expanded my vocabulary, ways of thinking and bettered my self-awareness.

I have realized how much my feelings either sink me or allow me to swim.

I am on the ocean of life, sailing towards the sun. The Lord is my guide and I am not able to sink fully because he saves me before I drown. In the last few months, I have faced things I never thought I would and I have felt like the waves have overtaken me. Thankfully God is my refuge and I have found rest in his presence, even if I feel defeated and unable to go on.

Jesus never promised an easy life.

John 16:33 – I have said these things to you, that in me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation. But take heart; I have overcome the world.”

Psalm 34:19 – Many are the afflictions of the righteous, but the LORD delivers him out of them all.

In these days of seemingly unending winter, take heart. Because those of us who are in Christ can find rest in our Savior. And hope for a brighter future.

1 Peter 5:6-10 – Humble yourselves, therefore, under the mighty hand of God so that at the proper time he may exalt you, casting all your anxieties on him, because he cares for you. Be sober-minded; be watchful. Your adversary the devil prowls around like a roaring lion, seeking someone to devour. Resist him, firm in your faith, knowing that the same kinds of suffering are being experienced by your brotherhood throughout the world. And after you have suffered a little while, the God of all grace, who has called you to his eternal glory in Christ, will himself restore, confirm, strengthen, and establish you.

 

Leave a comment